Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards celebrate the best of the best in historic preservation, adaptive reuse, and the re-imagining of historic buildings for the future. They are a part of the National Preservation Awards and will be presented at the PastForward conference during the Welcome on Wednesday, November 14 at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco. If you can’t make it to San Francisco, you can livestream the awards for free.

This year’s winners are:

  • Crosstown Concourse (Memphis, Tennessee)
    Though much has changed since the facility opened as a Sears, Roebuck and Company distribution center and retail store less than two miles from downtown Memphis in 1927, Crosstown Concourse is the product of nearly five generations of innovators, dreamers, and builders. Today, having overcome two decades of blight, Crosstown Concourse is the catalyst for the revitalization of not just a distressed and abandoned building, but an entire neighborhood.
  • The Douglass at Page Woodson (Oklahoma City, Oklahoma)
    The restoration and adaptation of Page Woodson School into affordable apartments marks a vibrant cultural renewal in Oklahoma City. In a public-private partnership, the badly decayed 1910 school house—renamed in 1934 for abolitionist Frederick Douglass when it became an all-black high school—underwent extensive restoration and now accommodates 60 affordable apartments and a community auditorium.
  • Richardson Olmsted Campus (Buffalo, New York)
    Reuse of the massive 145-year-old Richardson Olmsted Campus, the former Buffalo State Asylum and widely considered to be one of Buffalo’s most important and beautiful buildings, is the story of a threatened National Historic Landmark, the community effort to save it, a public-private partnership, skilled planning and design, and, ultimately, of success and rebirth. The transformation of the campus into a new hotel and architecture center occupying the iconic Towers Building and its two flanking structures is expected to be the crown jewel of a planned, mixed-use civic campus contributing to Buffalo’s architectural heritage. Pictured above.

Learn more about this year’s winners at

2019 Nominations

The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation National Preservation Awards, the nation’s most coveted and prestigious, are bestowed on historic preservation efforts that demonstrate excellence in execution and a positive impact on the vitality of their towns and cities.

Call for nominations for 2019 will open later in November. Sign up to receive updates about the awards program at the National Trust.

Original Article: